When I asked CJ a few hours ago on the phone what was he doing, he said, “I want to eat lollipop.”  The rest of his replies gave me ideas for our summer plans.

Helicopter tour
I was ready to take a helicopter tour over Cambodia’s Angkor Wat recently but glad I didn’t because I wasn’t exactly interested in flying without CJ so for this summer I plan to re-plan the whole thing instead.

Jollibee birthday party
After Disneyland for CJ’s birthday last year, and a submarine ride the birthday before that, I want something he has never experienced before and that is a Jollibee party.  I am probably more excited than he is.

School and extra-curricular lessons
CJ’s psychologist recommended a school so I’m going to check it out.  Art, music and swimming are up on the list too.

Candlelight dinner
I want to date CJ in either East Asia Royale Hotel or Paseo del Sol before I fly back to Bangkok.  A lot of other interesting places came up on my search so these two are tentative, but I hope I can find one that will suit us best.

Read books
It is a family tradition but I want to read to CJ this time with more sense and sensibility (Jane Austen addict here :)).  Strickland Gillilan’s poem will be my summer reading motivation:

I had a mother who read to me
Sagas of pirates who scoured the sea.
Cutlasses clenched in their yellow teeth;
“Blackbirds” stowed in the hold beneath.
I had a Mother who read me lays
Of ancient and gallant and golden days;
Stories of Marmion and Ivanhoe,
Which every boy has a right to know.
I had a Mother who read me tales
Of Gelert the hound of the hills of Wales,
True to his trust till his tragic death,
Faithfulness lent with his final breath.
I had a Mother who read me the things
That wholesome life to the boy heart brings-
Stories that stir with an upward touch.
Oh, that each mother of boys were such!
You may have tangible wealth untold;
Caskets of jewels and coffers of gold.
Richer than I you can never be —
I had a Mother who read to me.

This post is linked with Mommy Moments

17 thoughts on “More sense, more sensibility

  1. I love the poem! Thank you for sharing. I have been reading different kinds of books to my son because I also love to read and I hope someday he will feel rich because he had a mother who read to him. ; ) You have great summer plans for CJ. I’m sure he will have an awesome time with you.

Leave a comment