“A time to look over our week, recall blessings great and small and pick our five favorites to share”

Visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for more.

i. Bangkok in shiver mode.  The temperature has dropped since last week which means I am saving money from not having to use the AC and even the fan. I am loving it.

ii. Finding use for some of my loot from Cambodia.  Thanks to the cold I found reason to help myself to hot drinks.  Hot chocolate sprinkled with khmer pinipig (immature rice pounded into light, green flakes) tastes yummy in bed.

iii. My engineers saving the day.  They are tall, good-looking, mostly rich. It’s not hard to like them. But Thursday it seemed nothing could stop them from raving about some racket, ignoring instructions for a computer-aided oral exam. Worried that they could not pull it off, I tried virtually throwing a fit which worked. They appeased me by performing an impromptu rap that goes, “beautiful Miss H, we love you…”  I smiled. They cheered. After the exam I told them I regained my poise not because of the flattery, but because they all passed the exam. They cheered even more.

iv. Defining a research problem. Finally, I got it!  Back breaking hours on a thick reading pile paid off.

v. Until Then.  It’s not an entirely a nice week in the sense that, let me see… a close friend’s son was buried yesterday. Last night another close friend’s son got very sick. My own CJ also got sick. It is emotionally taxing.  I listened to this song countless times in 48 hours.

A heartache here is but a stepping stone…. It’s good to be assured that it’s not the end of things right here.

4 thoughts on “Carrying on

  1. Yes it was a week, I always enjoy a hot drink. Our temp has dropped also, but sends us in the other direction we need to increase the cost of heating to stay on board. Reading always pays off. Sad week for you and your friend over her son. Wishing your son a speedy recovery.

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend’s son. It reminds us to hold our own much closer to our hearts and to allow God to have them in His hands.

    That hot chocolate sounds every comforting.

    Hoping for a better week to come…

  3. That reassurance and hope in the midst of a taxing event is priceless!

    I’ve never heard of that addition to hot chocolate. Sounds interesting, certainly something we in the Western world don’t know much of.

Leave a comment