“A time to look over our week, recall blessings great and small and pick our five favorites to share”

Visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for more.

1. The ‘doorman.‘  At work taking the stairs instead of the lift is good exercise, but through huge and heavy iron doors.  I was spared from having my strength sapped on one door because a colleague held it open for me.  He didn’t see anyone coming from the lower floor.  He just heard heels tick-tocking on the steps and had the charming sense to wait and help.

2. A box of Belgian chocolates – the fun part of having to put up with students’ business trips abroad.

3. Feathered visitor.  A student came in grinning with a little brown bird on his palm. We placed it on the lectern where it dozed off while we tackled markets, demands and profits in business communication. When class was adjourned it was still nodding its pretty head in a nap. On the way home I let it hop into a tree – it stayed perched on my fingers. I tried the orchids – it didn’t even look. So I gave it rice and water and chatted with it before I curled up in bed. Good thing it was gone in the morning because I was about to give it a name.

4. Beating a deadline!

5. He fancied my thoughts on a Jim Morrison poem. His son’s homework was to analyze it.  He had this speaking engagement in church which we briefly discussed. Our conversation led to a duet: he, an octave higher; I, an octave lower. We sounded funny but well, just suppose God searched through heaven… I faltered. He went on, the supreme sacrifice that was needed…. I joined him again on the refrain, had it not been….

He microwaved his dinner. I stayed on the bed absentmindedly twiddling the shaft of my golf club. It’s hard to believe we could be friends like this after I went to pieces when he called it quits in college. As I learned to forgive, I began enjoying his company once again.  And it was no longer difficult to say goodbye. I smiled as I turned off the camera and clicked on new messages.

J has awakened and was greeting me a happy sabbath. From Norway.

8 thoughts on “Nice fellows, chocolates, a deadline and a sleeping bird

  1. Congrats. It is wonderful to beat deadlines.

    Intellectual/emotional ponderings ending with a duet. It can be a bonding way to engage with someone else. I can see why it was a fav for this week.

  2. Amazing that the little bird was so calm — every time I have seen one (that wasn’t tamed and used to a cage) in a building they’ve been flying around in a fluster looking for a way out.

    It’s always a lift to the spirits when someone does something thoughtful, like hold the door. And chocolates are a fave any day!

    I love that song, and forgiveness and restored relationships are beauitful things.

Leave a comment