Do you read yourself to sleep? Sometimes I do. Thirteen years ago I often did.

1998 was a terrible year for me. So much drama in my hands I was hardly aware of what was going on in the world. I did vaguely remember though cloning in the news. And I managed to take note of my country’s new president, the actor, whose election put images of Ronald Reagan in my head. How I like his facial expression. It’s kind.

There was something about Khmer Rouge and the Cambodian genocide. I remember thinking as long as I get to visit Angkor Wat before anything happens to it I am fine with the world. And I buried the rest of my own problems in books.  What perfect timing to read the Brontes. Just more of the depression that I needed. But at least those depressions were not mine and I took comfort in realizing I wasn’t the Queen of Depression at all.

filmcritic.com

Wuthering Heights. Check. Agnes Grey. Check. Jane Eyre. Double check.

Yesterday I watched the latest film adaptation of Jane Eyre on DVD.  A bit of classic romance for a nice break. Reading yourself to sleep could be way better than Valium. It also comes with nostalgic nights spent with story characters. This is the 1998 that I want to keep in memory.

This post is linked with:

Wayback Wednesdays

and

Nostalgia

11 thoughts on “Jane Eyre nights

  1. Though I know I am very abusive with my eyes now I still do read books before I sleep. Jane Eyre sounds very familiar to me I can’t remember if I read the novel yet. I like books that relates tradition and customs as well as a lot of love,drama, sex and mean people, lol! Now do I sound like I am the contrabida hahaha. That’s what I like in reading it transported me to another world ^_^ And I can’t imagine myself not reading any books even if I am already too busy with blogging. Thanks for the space and happy Thursday! ^_^

    Nostalgic

  2. I have a copy of Wuthering Heights and i love it. I’m sure i’ve read Jane Eyre but i can’t remember most of it. It’s been more than 10 years that I’ve read that. How I wish I have more time for books now. Maybe when the kids are older maybe I’ll get some time off and rekindle that passion again.

    this is a great post, sis!

  3. Is that the one which stars the Alice in Wonderland lass and Magneto? (lol, I don’t know the actors’ names)…I watched an old Jane Eyre film before, am not sure if the character is the one in your photo – but I promise not to do that again unless I read a review that says the movie is a detailed book account, lol. 😀

  4. If I read, I wouldn’t be able to sleep. I always want to know what would happen next. So I never read before bedtime.

    So have you gone to Angkor Wat? I highly recommend it. It’s truly breathtaking. I gasped when I first saw those dark majestic spires piercing the lavender dawn. See, I’m waxing poetic already.

  5. Hello Hazel – thank you for your kind comment on the plein air of the chapel in Yosemite Nat. Park.
    But I don’t see any recent posts … so I wonder how you got a hold of my blog? Reading stimulates my thinking, I have learned not to read in bed, when trying to go to sleep!

  6. Thank you Hazel for your comment today! The literary arts are my weakest … also because English is not my first language, but Dutch is. Thank God, my kids are in a lot better place, so if I’m not sure, I ask them:) Browsed your blog a little – goodness you have quite a life and so many responsibilities!

  7. A reading addiction is much better than a Valium addiction:) Your side bar pic “My whole life is being blogged” mad me smile. About your comment about the watercolor – you’re so kind about “my small vacation pic” – the views in Colorado were inspirational!

Leave a comment