Bangkok has been on flood alert for weeks.  So far there hasn’t been any calamity and I can’t adequately express how grateful I am for the normalcy.  Today I acknowledge things I wouldn’t otherwise consider good enough to be faves if there hadn’t been a threat hanging over my head:

i. Cool weather. Rains brought the usual boiling temp down. At night I don’t have to turn on the AC or even the fan, and that means an electric bill slash.

ii. Bus ride thoughts. A mail this morning reminded me of something I have been pushing to the back of my mind. It requires me to contact a research scientist who was a consultant during the Milosevic trial at the International War Crimes tribunal.  I plucked myself out of the office and jumped on a bus where I tried to organize my thoughts on how to approach him. I am about halfway through the strategy, and will kneel down the rest.

iii. Patisserie loot. Ok I admit I’m nervous.  Twelve years ago I chain-smoked serious stuff through. Nowadays I reckon I’ll try a less health destructive diversion.  So when I got off the bus and into The Emporium, I bought a fruit cheese cake, Napoleon and apple crumble.  I am eating the fruit cheese as I type this.  Some delicious way to calm the nerves.

iv. Literary relaxants: Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol and Anne Somerset’s Ladies in Waiting.

v. Halloween delight. Truth be told I have never been to a halloween party in my life.  After being bombarded by all the hype in cyberspace, I finally went to one. The fun lived up to my expectations and my curiosity was satisfied.  Check out the little fingers wrapped around one of an adult’s 🙂

Susanne hosts Friday’s Fave Five @ Living to Tell the Story.

18 thoughts on “Motivations

  1. Awww, the baby is so cute!

    Glad to hear that instead of chainsmoking during stress you are finding delightful treats!

    I’m always excited when cool weather warrants turning off the a/c!

  2. I appreciate your insight, that you see faves differently in light of the threats. A good perspective! Praying for you to collect your thoughts about the interview with the scientist. Sounds difficult…

  3. Hearing about the flooding, I wondered if you and Kari were OK. Glad to hear you weren’t affected.

    You seem to have your thoughts and treats organized for the big interview. You’re a brave and brilliant girl.

    Even babies like Halloween!

  4. I am so glad you haven’t had any flooding. Those treats sound good and a much better alternative than smoking — my mom smoked for over 50 years and it did impact her health and took her from us much too early.

    Good strategies for thinking things through before the interview — hope it goes well.

  5. Sometimes a little fat and sugar makes a great de-stressor. I always crave chocolate icecream after a stressful event.

    Love the picture at the end!

Leave a comment