So far so good

Ayutthya, the Thai ancient capital has been inundated since last week.  According to news updates, Bangkok is next.  Photos and video footages, while informative are scary. I’m listing this week’s highlights as I go. Think, think… sounds like this will all be about gratitude. One major blessing is never running out of things to be thankful for.

i. Still walking on dry, solid ground.  Bangkokians have been told to brace for the flood particularly on October 16-18. We haven’t been flooded yet. This is when you are really glad predictions or calculations are wrong.

ii. Cartoons. Most information released to the public seem either exaggerated or inaccurate while blame and criticism trend by the hour. I get an overview of what’s going on from editorial cartoons.  They’re rather easy to analyze.

iii. Books, tea and coffee.  Panic-buying all around.  I don’t have to join the throng that emptied grocery shelves at virtual lightning speed. There’s enough to keep me occupied until things get back to normal. I’m so thankful for internet connection too.

iv. CJ is safe. Inasmuch as I miss my kiddo, I’m really thankful he is not with me right now but living life normally with Grandma in PI. This calamity is easier to handle knowing I only have to deal with my own safety and not worry about his.

v. Literary comfort.  There’s Noah and the first rainbow, Coleridge’s ‘water, water everywhere…,’ (I love how poetry calms the nerves) and Tennyson’s

“Be still sad heart and cease repining; behind the clouds the sun is still shining, thy fate is the common fate of all. Into each life some rain must fall. Some days must be dark and dreary.”

The same lines I mentally chanted while on a flight home for my father’s funeral in 2005. “This (flood or any other trouble) too shall pass.” Thanks to whoever said that.

Susanne hosts Friday’s Fave Five at Living to Tell the Story.

This entry was posted in Bangkok, books / reading, CJ, Friday's Fave Five and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to So far so good

  1. Praying you won’t get flooded! I love your attitude of searching for things to be grateful for. I’m glad CJ will be safe where he is, and I hope you will be too.

  2. Barbara H. says:

    Hope and pray you won’t get flooded! Glad you have supplies on hand and that CJ is safe.

    Political Cartoons are usually good commentaries.t

    Love that Tennyson poem.

    • Hazel says:

      Yes they are. Loaded with a lot of meaning too. Another thing I like about political cartoons is that they don’t take up too much space and don’t require too much time to get the message across.

  3. Willow says:

    I have friends living in Lopburi and they are doing what they can to help the flood victims. I hope you stay safe. And yes, it’s hard to miss your boy, but it’s comforting to know he’s safe away from this situation.

  4. Laura says:

    LOVE your literary comfort! Praying for you. It’s great that you’re finding blessings in a tough time. Take care.

  5. Brenda says:

    So glad you can stay calm and safe in the midst of this natural disaster. The scenes I have seen on TV are pretty amazing.

  6. Melanie says:

    Will be praying for you!! Glad you’re safe thus far.

  7. Susanne says:

    So sorry for your loss. May God uplift you and bring peace and hope to your heart.

    Praying too for your safety. I agree, those are the kind of predictions that makes one very happy not to have come true.

  8. susan2009 says:

    I hope you all stay safe. And yes, it is a blessing to have the Internet. It doesn’t feel so isolated when you can keep in touch with others fairly easily.

    I am amazed at your positive outlook. I imagine that you are a comfort to others. Love the poetry-thanks for sharing. I know I will be calming myself with that quote.

Leave a Reply

