The nobel laureate

As writers and readers, as sinners and citizens, our realism and our aesthetic sense make us wary of crediting the positive note. ~ Seamus Heaney

Significance-to-me was my objective as I browsed handy Wikipedia for events in 1995. What is there with me to associate them with…. Here they go in random order:

WTO or World Trade Organization is established. In the grades we had this Current Events Digest that we bought for 75c, a Social Studies supplementary material. In it were important acronyms that we had to take note of. I remember WTO, NASA and WHO among several important others.

A chemical fire occurs in Manila exposing Project Bojinka, a mass terrorist attack plan masterminded by Ramzi Youseff. I had Youseff front page in a research proposal I wrote to the University of Copenhagen.

Talk of irony. I blabbed about terrorism to point out peace as my study rationale. Israeli prime minister Yitzhak Rabin is assassinated at a peace rally in Tel Aviv.

The Dow Jones Industrial Average gains 30.28 to close at 4,003.33. Ex in-laws used to talk of the Dow over meals at those family get-togethers. I would leave the table and tickle the piano with my stock market illiterate fingers.

The DVD media format is announced. To my left while I write this post, I glance at my collection of DVDs over the years. Isn’t it blu ray now?

Oklahoma City bombing. One of my favorite magazines, The Reader’s Digest, featured a book section story of bomber Timothy McVeigh and the victims. I hid my face with a larger mag in the faculty lounge so co-teachers wouldn’t see me welling up.

Burmese dissident Aung San Suu Kyi is freed from house arrest. She crosses my mind when it’s mango season in Thailand. This brave lady reportedly likes Thai mangoes. My son’s nanny, “Auntie Gwen” is Burmese. She always had this Burmese-English dictionary with her. I like her effort to learn how to speak English.

Seamus Heaney was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature for “what the Nobel committee described as ‘works of lyrical beauty and ethical depth, which exalt everyday miracles and the living past.'” He is also called the most important Irish poet since Yeats. I’m a fan of Yeats (and Jane Austen). My adoration for their works is on the tag line of my Stasia Desiderata blog – austenuating a fire in my head.

I wonder if JK Rowling thought of the laureate when she created Seamus Finnigan.

Photo Courtesy: MCKERS

During those introductory grad school sessions at Bangkok University, a Nobel Prize winner was announced as one of our guest speakers. I was excited to listen to an academic celebrity, but missed the opportunity. Oh well, maybe next time.

My professional life was off to a good start. I published an article in a national women’s magazine (which later appalled me; can’t believe my writing style then). My head was going places. But my heart was reeling. Le Boyfriend got married. To another girl.

Nursing a broken heart didn’t persuade me to enter the convent though. It’s awesome to survive and I’m ever thankful to be alive. Let those memories fly on gossamer wings. Or fly back to stay. There’s a big difference when you’re over a tough dent.

I’m still celebrating.  I most probably always will.

This post is linked with

Wayback Wednesdays

and

Nostalgia

This entry was posted in Nostalgia, social events, study, Wayback Wednesdays and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The nobel laureate

  1. Hello Hazel, Thanks for joining me today in Wayback Wednesdays. I liked your format on how you put some of the significant events of 1995 for us to revisit. Don’t you just love the age of computers and how quick it is look up anything? It makes me feel smart when I’m not, you know? lol

    Check out some of my posts…
    Wednesday Hodgepodge
    Chit Chat On Patrice’s Farmhouse Porch
    Wayback Wednesdays…1995

    Have a good day!
    Cathy Kennedy, Children’s Author
    The Tale of Ole Green Eyes

  2. Ms Burrito says:

    Wow sis, daming events which I never know of before wahhhh.. Di ako mahilig sa world history but thanks for sharing all these, now may alam na ako ng konti lol. Thanks for joining.

    • Hazel says:

      Oi sis, nandyan ka na pala. Hindi rin ako mahilig sa world history pro no choice ang byote ko noon. Kung meron lang sanang ibang magawa, yon na cguro ang racket ko nyahahah!

Leave a Reply

