Brown, Czerny and Hanon

The very first gifts that I remember I received from my parents were books.  Among the pile was an animal picture book featuring a rhino in a birthday party. That set off my love for reading.  My father later introduced me to The Aeneid which I never understood, but  that’s where my appreciation for literature originated.  He gave me Nancy Drew which later got me engrossed in the Dan Brown genre.

In school the contents of  my bag would always include some reading material.  During a Parent-Teacher Meeting, I overheard my 6th grade teacher tell my mother, “Hazel is a bookworm.”  I understand book but just what is worm?

Valentine 2010. CJ was my date (thus the rose) and I took him to Kinokuniya in Siam Paragon where we discussed some books he’s familiar with. “Mommy, it’s Ursula!”

Piano is a slightly different thing.  I was forced to study it at 6 and how I hated it!  To avoid practice sessions I once bathed my Czerny and Hanon with soy sauce.  That’s right – toyo, as in Silver Swan!  And my mother only said, “go dry them out in the sun.”

Several pouting faces and crying spells later, I accompanied a choir who sang Sa Mahal Ko’ng Bayan to an audience of around 3,000.  The huge applause felt good and changed the way I look at piano playing forever. If I survived quite a heavy piece as SMKB, then I could play what I want to entertain myself.  What really endeared me to the instrument is when I played a lullaby with one hand, the other hand cradling CJ, and he slept through it. I no longer play nowadays but maybe one day I will be reunited with this hobby again.

Welcoming 1.1.11 @ The Hilton

Chris hosts Mommy Moments. It’s hobby week @ The Mommy Journey

This entry was posted in books / reading, CJ, Mommy Moments, piano and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Brown, Czerny and Hanon

  1. Janaki says:

    learning the piano was one of my frustration so I applaud your parents and you for pursuing this hobby 🙂

  2. Lynn says:

    That was sweet, playing your baby a lullaby, not just humming it. 🙂

  3. Mirage says:

    Would you believe one of the first books I read as a child was Animal farm? lol, I was lost then. I love classical epics as Aeneid and I do hope my kids would appreciate them as I did. Piano is my frustration, my Ate learned it but I never did and I totally regret it. 😀 Fellow bookworm visiting…

  4. Tetcha says:

    Learning to play the piano is something I really wanted to do but never got to pursue. I wonder if I’m already too old to learn to do it. I’m so in awe of people who are adept at playing the piano. Happy MM, and thanks for visiting my entry!

  5. Grace.B says:

    Hello Hazel,

    I love this expression “bookworm” that what I was also at that time. But I can’t remember the very first book I red. I remember being so in a hurry to read, that I memorize the story dad and mum red me before sleeping and pretending to read them after just do like them. Lol ! Books are my best companions till now. Reading a chapter can take any pain of me. Music also have this kind of power but a little less. It’s different.
    I wish you’ll find again the pleasure of playing piano.
    Didn’t link my saturday song yet but I’m on my way.
    If you thought about adding a banner to your blog, you might be interesting on checking my blogiversary Free header contest on the latest posts of my blog.
    Blessings
    Grace

  6. Chris says:

    wow, piano?! i would love to learn that myself! 😀

    glad to read your post today hazel. 🙂

    happy mommy moments!

  7. Pingback: Gratitude 84: Wonderful Hobbies « Perpetual Gratitude: A Photographic Diary

Leave a Reply

