Pirouette

My week hasn’t been very busy until today. Thank goodness the day is over and so is the major errand.  It’s great to sit in bed, stretch and recount the highlights of the week:

i. Mariinsky Ballet and Symphony Orchestra.  In celebration of the Bangkok International Festival of Dance and Music, world class performers are in town.  Thailand Cultural Center is alive with shows and concerts.  Don Quixote was excellently portrayed with colorful costumes and spell-binding pirouettes. It was so far the most beautiful night I had this year.

ii. Immigration report. This energy-sapping chore took me the whole day to accomplish but it’s done. Completely done!

ii. “A quality haiku. Just the right amount of zest”  says a published UK novelist/poet of my first attempt at a meme called Haiku Heights.  A friend who watched me stare at my laptop in concentration got curious and asked what a haiku is. As I could hardly answer him, he went quiet himself. I ignored him, but his silence got me curious too.  When I turned I found him staring at the ceiling counting syllables with his fingers. We broke out laughing.

iv. Money management for CJ and a couple of orphans. What I have never before mentioned anywhere in my two blogs is that at home in PI we have two kids living with us for a few years now. They are kids of my cousin who died 14 years ago. Anyway, I read this article on Yahoo Finance about a teacher who explains How to live well on $40,000/year. It motivated me to draw up a plan for CJ that will teach him how to spend, give, and save money (ex-MIL canceled CJ’s trust fund).  It was feasible so I decided to include the two kids. Knowing it will yield good results for the kids in the long run just makes me happy.

v. Oat patties and purple sweet potatoes.  They are my recent food wish and I got them this week. Deellliiicccciiiooouuusss!

Susanne hosts Friday’s Fave Five @ Living to Tell the Story.

This entry was posted in CJ, entertainment, family, food / dining, Friday's Fave Five. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pirouette

  1. So glad you had a wonderful night at the ballet. And your immigration report is done! Nice.

    That’s wonderful that you found the money management plan that you can share with the kids. That’s a great life skill to teach them!

  2. Susanne says:

    I’ve never had oat patties, but I do love purple potatoes! Congrats on the good comments about your haiku meme! I’m off to read that article. Sounds like it helped you out with planning. I need that.

  3. Barbara H. says:

    The ballet and orchestra sound wonderful!

    I’m sure it is a big relief to have the immigration report done.

    How sad that CJ’s trust fund was canceled. Sounds like a great program, though.

  4. Ellen says:

    Hats off to you for caring for and planning well for all the children. What a good relief to get that report done. Glad you could enjoy the ballet and orchestra…

  5. It’s always nice to have our work praised. Congratulations! You made me smile, I have counted syllables a few times, myself!
    I’m glad you enjoyed the ballet and orchestra, and that your immigration business is taken care of.
    It’s so important to teach good financial sense, and have a plan. Good for you, and the kids!

  6. Willow says:

    It’s never too early to start kids learning to be responsible with money!
    Will you share some of your haiku with us??

  7. susan2009 says:

    How fun that you have a beautful night at the Don Quixote ballet. Someday I hope to read the book.

    I have been to only a handful of ballet and orchestra performances. I have always enjoyed them. The shows/concerts in my town are expensive. Maybe when I retire and can get senior discounts I’ll make that more of a priority.

    Congrats on being so tenacious and getting your immigration report totally done. What a relief! Hopefully that chore doesn’t need redoing for quite a l-o-n-g time.

    What a marvellous comment on your published haiku. Yes, please do share it with us.

Leave a Reply

