A wardrobe situation

My dreams of dressing up a live doll vanished when I found out I was carrying a boy. “Oh well,” I consoled myself, “at least boys’ clothes and accessories are simple and maybe less expensive.”

Some awakening.

To offset costs and save time that can be otherwise used wisely somewhere else, I make sure Cj’s wardrobe has the colors usually worn to most activities: blacks, whites, blues, reds. I worry about stripes, checkers, or what-have-malls-got afterward. For ties, I choose colors that match the trousers or shoes, or those with designs that complement the main color of the shirt.

Children grow like grass, but I don’t believe in buying (too) big sizes. It is just unbecoming. I love watching kids who are smartly dressed. So I pick a size with enough allowance for Cj’s expected growth. When the clothes are outgrown, they are given away. There is no Salvation Army around our neighborhood but as I let my mother give away only pieces that still look new and will last a year or two, she reports that there are always individuals who do not mind them. Trends may have changed and I could be wrong, but the last time I checked, sharing outgrown clothes is still common in a country like ours.

That’s about it. Truth be told I am some kind of fashion fiasco. I only try to get better at apparel stuff because I want Cj spared from turning into a scare crow like I must have been during several occasions.

Linggo ng Wika (Language Week) CJ wears his first barong tagalog

Chris hosts Mommy Moments. It’s fashion tips week @ The Mommy Journey

This entry was posted in CJ, Mommy Moments, Mommyhood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A wardrobe situation

  1. imriz says:

    i enjoyed ur post:) big clothes that would make them look like ronald mcdonald, ur right, not too biggie.

  2. Mirage says:

    Did you change your layout? Weren’t you using one with a sunflower field? 😉 I feel you…I grew up with hand-me-downs but unlike my kids mine were ill-fitting lol. 🙂

    • Hazel says:

      Yes, I had that sunflower for awhile until this lovely cottage triggered my craze over dreamlike, rural paintings. I did not grow up with hand-me-downs. It was when I have grown up that I started wearing hand-me-downs, a.k.a. mother’s blouses, skirts and shoes. I don’t call that too-lazy-to-shop. It’s trusting her taste which is a lot better than mine, and yeah, call that economizing too 🙂

      • Mirage says:

        aww sorry, I misread that part….on the contrary, my mom get hand-me-downs — from me lol, especially when I buy shoes online — they tend to be bigger so she gets them having one size bigger than mine. I anyway, asked about the layout because I haven’t been encountering your posts for sometime now. Glad to stumble here again.

  3. stef says:

    I personally think that boys’ clothes & shoes are more expensive than girls’…I’m not so sure about it since I have 2 girls. It is more of an observation when inside a mall. =)

    Visiting from MM. Here’s my entry. See you!

    • Hazel says:

      “Rude awakening” really. Boys’ clothes and accessories are more expensive than girls’ seems to be true. It is what I have personally observed too. If I don’t set up a budget and stick to it, my wallet gets battered.

  4. Tetcha says:

    I totally agree with you, Mommy. We should buy clothes with just enough allowance for our kids; otherwise, they won’t be comfortable wearing them. Happy MM! Here’s my entry: http://www.pensivethoughts.com/2011/09/mommy-moments-fashion-tips.html

  5. Myra says:

    i feel you! i also have a son but it doesn’t stop me from styling him. Actually, there are times that boys clothes can be expensive than girls, but with boy’s clothes you don’t need to worry about accessories. I am visiting from MM. here is my entry: http://inkless-memoir-of-myra.blogspot.com/2011/09/in-our-closet.html

  6. Chris says:

    I seldom buy clothes for my kids because my mom does that for me 🙂 i agree with you though.. i dont like kids wearing outfits that are too big or too mature for them!

  7. Pingback: LINGGO NG WIKA RAW! « Living Out Lod(Rose)!

Leave a Reply

