New finds

“A time to look over our week, recall blessings great and small and pick our five favorites to share”

Visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for more.

1. Red Riding Hood and Black Swan. I liked RRH. The main character of BS is sick but the dance and music numbers are beautiful.

2. The 9th Cafe at Siam Paragon have all these yummy cakes. I chose chocolate swirl cheese cake. Their beef tacos are yummy too.

3. New Memes. I am having immense fun with:

  • Sunday Scribblings – a prompt is given and you are free to write whatever comes to mind. Participants share excellent posts. Some look like seasoned poets.
  • Scripture and a Snapshot – you share a verse that matches a photo. Exploring the beauty of biblical language is why I am enjoying this meme very much. (I was surprised to learn that my name is mentioned in the Bible).
  • ABC Wednesday – fun in writing and sharing photos
  • Monday Memories – remembering those memories and writing them down
  • Pictures of Life (Hulagway sa Kinabuhi) – started this week and is written in Bisaya, a dialect of the Visayans, an ethno-linguistic group in the Philippines. I provide an English version of my posts for friends or visitors who do not read Bisaya but might be curious. I participate in this meme to develop some translating skill.
  • The Week in Words – keeps me marking what speaks to me in my reading adventures

4.  New online finds: Book Blogs and meeting authors and novelists, Bibliotherapy, book trailers, art blogs – all riveting.

5. Sorting immigration stuff. A 90-day report and getting a re-entry permit tell me I am about to travel again.

This entry was posted in books / reading, films/movies, Friday's Fave Five, Learning Adventures. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to New finds

  1. Faith says:

    great list! I”ll have to check out some of those memes….I’m interested in the Biblical one….do you have the link?? Black Swan was recommended by my daughter’s ballet teachers (but at age 12 we are not allowing her to view it)….the main character is supposed to be suffering from some kind of obsessive disorder?? something about becoming too involved in the ballet character she is dancing?? I’m interested in it because our 12 year old is all things ballet! (but hopefully she won’t choose a career in it…lol….) enjoy your weekend!!

  2. Chocolate swirl cheese cake. Sounds delicious. Glad you found some new memes. I think memes are so fun. Happy to see you on The Week in Words! I’ve enjoyed it a lot.

  3. Barbara H. says:

    Thanks for mentioning The Week In Words! Glad to have you along! Some of the others sound interesting, too.

    Beef tacos and chocolate swirl cheesecake — my mouth is watering.

  4. Memes can certainly be a lot of fun!

    Hope you have a great weekend!

  5. Willow says:

    Memes are great for focusing our writing. And the cheesecake sounds so yummy!
    Enjoy your travel even though it’s because of immigration paperwork.

  6. Susanne says:

    Oh those sound like interesting memes. I love the bible verse/photography one. I used to do a similar thing on my own. It would be fun to participate in a meme and see others posts.

    I have not seen either of those movies. I don’t really get into scary ones so those might be ones that I rent so that I can fast forward. LOL.

  7. Laura says:

    Okay…now I have to search for some of those memes you mentioned! Have a great week ahead.

  8. Brenda says:

    I frequently find good books to read on line as well. I just wish I had plenty of time to read them!

  9. Catherine says:

    The memes sound great! (and so does the cheesecake!) I’m glad you enjoyed some movies and are finding some internet treasure troves. It’s amazing how much is out there.. . something for everybody!

Leave a Reply

