Hearts and books

“A time to look over our week, recall blessings great and small and pick our five favorites to share”

Visit Susanne at Living to Tell the Story for more.

1. Support network. CJ’s second clinical impression, which is pervasive developmental disorder bombed me in the skull recently. As soon as I let friends in on that, moral and emotional boost came pouring in: encouraging thoughts left on Facebook, private messages that tell me these friends care, online chats and phone calls lessened the weight. The fact that CJ’s dad refuses to have anything to do with all this doesn’t have to make this all miserable. I take comfort in being reminded that

“When God closes a door, somewhere he opens a window.”

2. Little, lovely surprises on Hearts’ Day. J, who has been gone for two weeks due to connection issues managed to come back online exactly on VD, greeted me, and disappeared into the blue again. I thought ‘what was that?…’  Re-focusing, I hurried my nostrils into work. But surviving the day turned out not so bad after all. I could take bittersweet. These landed on my desk –

Cupid was nice to me. He sent not arrows but this –

Oh to be young again! I had to put some cynicism on hold while witnessing students smooching in front of me. And yes, I had a go at giggling and letting love thrill me albeit inconspicuously.

3. Jacquie Lawson e-card from Thom. Beautiful and classy are twins. I love such perfect combination.

4. Buying books. Put me inside a book shop or any place filled with books and I am a happy, content soul. There was hot mocha on the mug I was holding while spending gratifying moments admiring shelves of books in Dasa. I did promise not to buy books until I sort out shipping problems but I broke that promise and I was happy to do so.

5. Reading. This week I’m lost in Lazarus Vault – 12th century knight adventures interspersed with an impoverished grad student’s job in modern day London. What a relaxing escape and how I relate!

This entry was posted in books / reading, Friday's Fave Five and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hearts and books

  1. Kathie says:

    I’m so glad for the outpouring of love and support from your friends. There’s nothing sweeter!

    Sounds like a sweet V celebration too!

    I’m with you on books! They make me happy.

    Many blessings!

  2. I am so thankful for supportive networks too. It’s amazing how much of a difference it can make in your attitude. Praying for CJ and everyone’s adjustment to his diagnosis, especially his dad who needs to accept it…

    Buying books is definitely a highlight for me too. Glad you got to buy AND read. Have a great weekend.

  3. Susanne says:

    So nice that you had so much support and love shown to when you needed it. Saying a prayer for you and CJ that God would direct your paths as you navigate what he needs.

    I can totally relate to get lost in a book store and in reading.

  4. Melissa says:

    A good support network is so important! I’m glad that your friends responded with love and concern.

    And yes, I’m with you on books and reading, too!

  5. Ellen says:

    Thank goodness for support and encouragement from people. I’m glad you had an outpouring.
    A good book to escape with is a great thing.
    Hope your weekend is relaxing…

  6. Willow says:

    I’m so glad you have a great support system around you right now. I’m going to google that diagnosis and learn what I can about it. Praying for you and CJ.

    Oh it is hard when you lose connections abruptly! I hope the connections get better soon, after the sun flares calm down.

  7. Brenda says:

    Books are a passion of mine as well, its hard to put them down!

  8. cindy says:

    It is so nice that you could take some of the weight off with a support network, amazing what some few little words can do.
    Love was in the air and hearts all around this past week, glad you got in on some. I had to giggle my daughter and I make a date to show up at the book store and we had one this week, it was fun.

  9. Catherine says:

    I have twins with asperger syndrome, and I have some health issues of my own. Support systems are wonderful. So are lovely gifts and good books. I’m glad it was a mostly good week for you.

Leave a Reply

