Imagine

Then Sings My Soul Saturdays features inspirational music. Amy Wyatt hosts TSMSS at Signs, Miracles and Wonder

While visiting the infamous S21 in Cambodia, I remember a cousin telling me of a documentary film. John Lennon’s Imagine was playing in the background as “a field of cabbages” panned in. We were kids when she told me that tale. The cabbages were actually skulls of Khmer Rouge victims. In later readings I found out that the location of the ‘cabbages’ was called the Killing Fields.

Almost three decades later, last week, I found myself right where the atrocities took place.  Bones in glass cases, pieces of victims’ clothing, holes where corpses were dumped juddered my entrails. I wanted to get out of Phnom Penh as quickly as possible. I was hoping my mind would not register the images. But it had. I would be asking myself what did I learn from the experience. Now I see a bit how Imagine relates with the ‘cabbages.’

This entry was posted in music / songs, Then Sings My Soul Saturdays, travel / tour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Imagine

  1. hip chick says:

    One of my all time favorites. I remember this song very well.

  2. SnoopyGirl says:

    What a tragic scene that must have been for you and you sister to have seen. Thanks for sharing your song and you story!

  3. Susan says:

    To only imagine…

    How sad.

    Great song.

    Have a blessed weekend!

Leave a Reply

