Motivations

Bangkok has been on flood alert for weeks.  So far there hasn’t been any calamity and I can’t adequately express how grateful I am for the normalcy.  Today I acknowledge things I wouldn’t otherwise consider good enough to be faves if there hadn’t been a threat hanging over my head:

i. Cool weather. Rains brought the usual boiling temp down. At night I don’t have to turn on the AC or even the fan, and that means an electric bill slash.

ii. Bus ride thoughts. A mail this morning reminded me of something I have been pushing to the back of my mind. It requires me to contact a research scientist who was a consultant during the Milosevic trial at the International War Crimes tribunal.  I plucked myself out of the office and jumped on a bus where I tried to organize my thoughts on how to approach him. I am about halfway through the strategy, and will kneel down the rest.

iii. Patisserie loot. Ok I admit I’m nervous.  Twelve years ago I chain-smoked serious stuff through. Nowadays I reckon I’ll try a less health destructive diversion.  So when I got off the bus and into The Emporium, I bought a fruit cheese cake, Napoleon and apple crumble.  I am eating the fruit cheese as I type this.  Some delicious way to calm the nerves.

iv. Literary relaxants: Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol and Anne Somerset’s Ladies in Waiting.

v. Halloween delight. Truth be told I have never been to a halloween party in my life.  After being bombarded by all the hype in cyberspace, I finally went to one. The fun lived up to my expectations and my curiosity was satisfied.  Check out the little fingers wrapped around one of an adult’s 🙂

Susanne hosts Friday’s Fave Five @ Living to Tell the Story.