The best recipe for happiness

In celebration of Talk Like Jane Austen Day on October 30th, I gathered quotes by this great English author who wrote about women hell-bent on marrying well (read: snapping up rich husbands).  I picked snippets that in some way echo post modern social convention:

1. A lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment Women are from Venus…

2. A large income is the best recipe for happiness I ever heard ofDon’t tell me money can’t buy happiness, dude 🙂

3.  A woman, especially, if she have the misfortune of knowing anything, should conceal it as well as she can. so as not to threaten…

4. An engaged woman is always more agreeable than a disengaged. She is satisfied with herself. Her cares are over, and she feels that she may exert all her powers of pleasing without suspicion. All is safe with a lady engaged; no harm can be done. Grouchy old maids; yet to some women marriage is a headache

5. Business, you know, may bring you money, but friendship hardly ever does. We are friends until you borrow money

6. Every man is surrounded by a neighborhood of voluntary spies. or private detectives/investigators

7. Friendship is certainly the finest balm for the pangs of disappointed love. Bella Swan did more to her friendship with Jacob Black

8. Happiness in marriage is entirely a matter of chance.  I could be doomed.

9. Give a girl an education and introduce her properly into the world, and ten to one but she has the means of settling well, without further expense to anybody. My Jesuit-educated father insisted I went to school and have a career

10. It is always incomprehensible to a man that a woman should ever refuse an offer of marriage. Women either refuse or propose marriage themselves nowadays

11. Nobody minds having what is too good for them. It’s nice to be spoiled sometimes…

12. Nothing is more deceitful than the appearance of humility. It is often only carelessness of opinion, and sometimes an indirect boast. Was it Golda Meir who said, “Don’t be too humble. You are not that great.”?

13. There are certainly not so many men of large fortune in the world, as there are pretty women to deserve themMiss Pretty is expected to marry Mr Wealthy

Megan and Janet host Thursday 13.
Talk Like Jane Austen Day

This entry was posted in quotes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The best recipe for happiness

  1. Liz K says:

    I never heard of talk like Jane Austen day. Sounds like fun. great quotes.
    My MY TT is up

  2. Journeywoman says:

    Great list. I especially love #3

  3. Thoughts to ponder.
    Happy Halloween!

  4. Jen says:

    I’ve never heard of talk like Jane Austen day. Sounds like it would be a challenge. lol. I did just discover the movie Lost In Austen and enjoyed it quite a bit.

    Have a great Thursday! 🙂

  5. CountryDew says:

    I have never heard of this day. I am not sure I could talk like that! Wow.

    Great list. I learned something.

  6. Xakara says:

    I hadn’t heard of the day so thanks for the information and #2–so true!

    Happy Halloween and Happy TT,

    ~Xakara
    13 Inspirational Sentences

  7. Heather says:

    Love Jane Austen!

  8. {S.T.U.F.F.} says:

    Ohhhh

    Me likey! Happy Jane Austen Day {two days earlier…but not early enough}

    Nice TT

  9. Comedy Plus says:

    I love them all. We women are pretty smart, but I’ve always known that.

    Have a terrific TT and Happy Halloween. 🙂

  10. SnoopyGirl says:

    I never new there was a talk like Jane Austin day. How cool is that. Long ago some good friends and I would sit and watch Pride and Prejudice and talk with a british accent to one another. Such fun memories!

Leave a Reply

