>Infant Memories

>“Memories dating to the third or fourth year, and even occasionally to the second year, are generally given credence; but there is widespread skepticism regarding those attributed to the first year. Is this justifiable scientific caution because of the difficulty of verification, or merely prejudice? How can we decide whether something supposedly remembered really occurred?” ~ Melitta Schmideberg, M.D. on Infant Memories and Constructions, Psychoanalytic Quarterly

The year was 1971. I was a few months old and I remember water dripping gently on my head from the roof of this house we lived in. Bathrooms and comfort rooms were usually separate from the houses back then. My mother said that she was indeed going to give me a bath when someone with a camera passed by.

In later years I remember someone called “Auntie Bebot.” She was pretty and pleasant. She loved to pop up in our living room or kitchen. She did it when Mama’s dashing younger brother, fresh from military training would visit us. I also remember being told that this Auntie Bebot had a crush on my uncle and she was trying to get his attention at the pretense of giving us a sack of chicos. Oops…. =)

~ Visit Alicia of More Than Words for more flashbacks ~

This entry was posted in Friday Photo Flashback. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to >Infant Memories

  1. Alicia says:

    >What a darling photo!!! And you were born the same year as my hubby!

  2. Thom says:

    >CJ comes by his looks honestly. Cute photo. Dang I'm lucky to remember yesterday let alone my childhood. LOL

  3. sweet_shelo says:

    >wow cute flashback.. Great that you still have it.

  4. Veronica Lee says:

    >He is sooooo cute!!Have a great FF!!

  5. chubskulit says:

    >Nyahahahah I love the story behind this photo sis.. Ang cute cute mo nung bata ka, sarap yakapin tsaka kagat kagatin ng cheeks lol..I dug out my high school memories hehehe.

  6. Joops says:

    >oh my, isn't it great to look back to our cute baby pics. Lovely!Check out my Goofy Childhood mage hehehe..

  7. nicquee says:

    >The one who took this shot can't resist your charms! Thanks to that person you have lovely baby pictures.I joined too.http://hunnynicquee.blogspot.com/2009/10/friday-photo-flashback-3-4th-grade.html

  8. Ebie says:

    >Aint you a cute little darlin! And such a lovely memory to go with it. (pssst, this year, I was in third year HS) Nyahhaaa!I have only a few old photos…

  9. Happy says:

    >Cute, cute, cute, cute! Love a cute baby picture!

  10. Janice says:

    >Oh this is an unusual photograph, imagine you remembering from when you were so young.

  11. Erin says:

    >What a cute picture and the fact that you remember that is fabulous! The story about the girl having a crush on your uncle is funny. I'll bet it makes you smile when you think of it.

  12. Dani Joy says:

    >What a cute baby you were! Love the chubbiness! 😉 Do you really remember way back then? My first memories are of when I was 4.

Leave a Reply

